Mission and History

  It is the mission of the Taber Public Library to:

...meet the informational, educational, and recreational needs of the public of the Town of Taber and surrounding area.

...bring our Library to the attention of all the Citizens of our town and area.

...provide a wide range of friendly, efficient, library services based on its patrons' needs.

A Brief History of the Library  

1946 November 9th - The Library officially opens upstairs in the Fire Hall. Its collection consists of several hundred volumes which the Taber Home and School Association collected through acquiring cash and book donations. 

1947 - The Taber Library Association was formed.

1950 - The Library was moved to the ground floor of the Fire Hall.
Chairman of the Library Board: Mr. Wesley J. Smith; Librarian: Mrs. Ethel Evans Hall. 
(see July, 1951 news article)

1951 - The Library's collection consists of over 3,000 volumes. Librarian: Mrs. Carl (Usona Hall) McCartee.

1955 - Librarian: Mrs. Lola Flood

1960 - Property is purchased for a new library site. 

1962 - Construction of the new library building takes place. On March 21st, the Library's cornerstone is chosen, which will read, "No possession can surpass or equal a good library. --J. A. Langford". The Sorority Club conducts story hours on Saturday mornings. Reverends Bade and Kennedy present books to the Library on behalf of the Taber Ministerial Association. Librarian: Mrs. Freda Sherburne. 

1963 - Kiwanis donates $3,230 to the Library Building Fund and collects books and money for the new Library. 
Other donations to the Library include pictures of Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip by the Archie McLean Chapter I.O.D.E., a clock in memory of Cecil Johnson by the Taber Lions Club, and books from the late Senator Buchanan by the Lethbridge Herald. 

June 28th - Wesley G. Smith lays the cornerstone and Mayor Stuart Boyle cuts the ribbon to commemorate the official opening of the new Library facility.

Members of Kiwanis help move books into the Library and the Ladies of Kiwanis donate $400 towards the purchase of books for teenagers. I.O.D.E. also donates a book cart.

In June 0f 2007 we officially opened our new library.

Librarians Through the Years

1946 - 1950 - Mrs. Ethel Hall
1951 - 1954 - Mrs. Usona McCartee
1955 - 1961 - Mrs. Lola Flood
1962 - 1965 - Mrs. Freda Sherburne
1965 - 1974 - Mrs. Geraldine Kambeitz
1974 - 1993 - Mrs. Alice Avery
1993 - 1996 - Mrs. Renee Husdal
1996 - 1999 - Ms. Kim Price
1999 - Ms. Lee Ann Anderson
1999 - 2012 - Mrs. Helen Jury and Mrs. Diane Zelenka
2013 to present - Mrs. Diane Zelenka